Farewell to Richard Pasco

Richard Pasco recoils from Megaera, the monstrous creature of The Gorgon.

Richard Pasco recoils from Megaera, the monstrous creature of The Gorgon.

I am saddened by news of the death of Richard Pasco. I interviewed him way back in 1992 when he was on tour with a production of An Inspector Calls. He had agreed to speak with me about working with Peter Cushing. And our conversation ranged over early days at the Q Theatre as well as stories of working on Sword of Sherwood Forest and The Gorgon.

He was a lovely man and was positively amazed when I pulled out copies of Q Theatre programmes in which he was listed as a lowly ASM. One other thing: he was playing a bluff northern patriarch in the Priestley play and was concerned about his accent. “When you watch it, will you come back afterwards and tell me what you thought of my accent?” he asked. I did. He was brilliant, and I said so. The sense of relief was palpable. I’ve never forgotten it. I met him only once and I liked him very much. Farewell, Richard.

Read more here: http://www.theguardian.com/global/2014/nov/20/richard-pasco

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

